Book Review: Life Lessons, by Kaje Harper

Kaje

Book: Life Lessons (#1)

Author: Kaje Harper

Publisher: MLR Press

Genre: Gay Romantic Suspense

Heat Level: Medium

I found a mystery/suspense series in gay romance that I like! And not only is the writing good. I like the characters, which is one of the most important things in a romance novel. I see that Kaje has a few more books in this series, so I may have to check them out.

I say this because I’ve been reading some of the other highly popular mystery m/m novels lately, including the “Cut and Run” series by Abigail Roux. Now don’t get me wrong–the first book was pretty decent. But I didn’t really like the characters, so I’m not really pulled into reading any more of the series. And that’s not to say she doesn’t have good characters They’re just not appealing to me personally.

Meanwhile, Kaje has what I confess is my favorite type of pairing–a sensitive younger man with a hardened older man with emotional issues. On top of that, she starts the book off with a bang–a murder, to be precise. There’s threats, danger, even a hostage situation. What more could you ask for?

Well the “more” is that things are not resolved by the ending. Sure, the murder mystery has been solved. Bad guy caught. Things are okay–for now. But there’s ample signs of trouble to come, particularly since the older fellow, Jared, wants to stay in the closet.

I’ve learned from personal experience that this is NOT a good idea. I tried being in the closet for a long time, but once I was with a long time partner that I wanted to grow old with, hiding and lying became like a cancer, eating away at things. It damaged things between me and my parents (who are STILL adjusting to things, five years later) and my daughter, who should have felt comfortable with things a lot sooner.

So I have high expectations for the next book!  There are obviously more ‘life lessons’ to learn.

Leave a Reply

