Book Review: Too Many Fairy Princes

prince

Title: Too Many Fairy Princes

Author:  Alex Beecroft

Genre:  M/M Fantasy

Publisher: Samhain

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

I did enjoy this book. I wouldn’t call it great literature or anything, but it was an enjoyable read. It’s a pretty classic Romance plot, the world-travelling love interest having to be rescued in present-day time (the flipside of the other trope, the love interest traveling BACK in time), and as such things go, I think it was well done. I actually think the author did a good job with the world of the elves, their culture and their description.

This is why I think the author should have avoided mentioning Tolkien. It wasn’t needed–the reader got that these were beautiful elves. The world wasn’t Middle Earth, so why compare it?  I get that the character might think such a thing. But I think it detracted from the beauty and differences of Beecroft’s own elves. You made them different–now own it!

Other than that little nit, I only had one other issue with the story line, which was the strange resolution between Joel and Drake, his nemesis or at least the guy who is trying to kill him. The battle in the flat was a bit hard to follow and it just seemed a little too neatly packaged as a solution. I think I would have liked something more there. Perhaps more clues ahead of time (won’t say why–spoiler). Again, it just felt a little artificial. The stuff between Joel and the Queen, however, was priceless. I ate that stuff up, as well as all the little nuances of having an elf in modern London–Nutella!

I see that this writer has other historical gay romance out there, so I’ll have to check it out. What I saw here tells me that while this writer is still developing, Alex has a strong grasp on the romance side of things, and I look forward to seeing more.

Leave a Reply

