Book Review: Seven, by Adrienne Wilder

seven

Title: Seven

Author: Adrienne Wilder

Publisher: Adienne Wilder

Genre: m/m sci-fi / paranormal

Heat level: Fairly spicy

Rating: 5 out of 5 freaking stars!!!!

I just found my favorite m/m writer.

This book had everything that I love in an m/m romance. Suspense–lots of it. Danger and near mishaps. Near non-stop action and intrigue. Paranoia (you’re not paranoid if they really ARE out to get you.) A cool world where genetic studies have created superhuman psychic powers. Hurt and comfort. And really likeable characters, not just in the main pairing, but the supporting cast as well.

I’ll admit it; I’m a sucker for certain tropes, and the seme/ume is one of them. I just happen to like size difference, though I’ve read plenty of gay fiction without it. (My other trope is military/cop with lots of muscles). So right from the start I liked Seven and Chase, even though they were presented as near opposites. Seven seems both vulnerable and crazy, and just this mystery was enough to draw me in. I actually came across this book from the blog tour with the excerpt. The concept together with the scene and the style of writing was enough that I immediately purchased the book.

Unlike so many other books I’ve read, this one never disappoints me. The plot moves from tension to tension with just enough break in between to enjoy the scenery (and the sex). Dr. Stone is a great bad guy, and the other psychics are both dangerous but sympathetic as victims in a larger scheme. I adored Nine and hope that Wilder brings him back in a future sequel. The concepts of precognition and event manipulation was interesting, and I enjoyed some of the twists that this brought to things. Some things (like Eighteen) were just plain creepy.

Those who know me know that I rarely give a five out of five rating. To me this means I would re-read this in a heartbeat, and count it among my favorites. Everything about the book was clean and professional. I don’t think I even found any nits, which is VERY rare.

I’ll be on the lookout for more of Wilder’s writing.

Leave a Reply

