Book Review: Hometown Secrets

hometown

Book: Hometown Secrets

Author: Dawn Flemington

Publisher: Loose Id

Genre: M/M romance (Western)

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a free copy of the book in exchange for a fair, honest review.

Despite the fact that I grew up with horses, I’ve never been a huge fan of either country music or westerns, whether on TV or in books. I’m still a city girl at heart, but I also get the whole farming and ranching thing. I think Dawn did a great job of presenting real men working their farms and figuring out what it means to be a cowboy. I’m also not hugely into coming out stories. I had a hard enough time with my own coming out.

Now with those caveats out of the way, I enjoyed Dawn’s novel. Pete and Asher are very likeable, and even though I wanted to smack Pete a time or two, I understood what he was going through. Coming out, especially when you have a highly religious, right-wing mother (yeah I have one of those too) is really difficult.

The book was somewhat predictable and the anti-gay sentiment was a little heavy-handed at times, but what I really liked were the interactions between Pete and his father, and Asher with his uncle. it’s these kinds of family relationships that make the book stand out, and I’m glad Dawn explored all the different reactions, from shock to “What took you so long!” A little side plot with the nephew was also enjoyable.

The poor llamas made me laugh.

So to readers, if you like westerns and cowboys, if you enjoy rolling in the hay (literally) and coming out drama, you’ll love what Flemington has offered here. And even if you aren’t that much into those things, it’s still a worthy read.

Leave a Reply

