Book Review: Memory Kick

memory

Title: Memory Kick

Author: C.M. Torrens

Publisher: Dreamspinner

Genre: M/M sci-fi

Heat level:  Medium

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I haven’t read too many m/m sci-fi novels, but I like the combination of space stations, psychedelic drugs, and neural rewiring that Torrens features in this book. Qusay is a suitably vulnerable lost waif with an interesting mixture of bravado, sassiness and deep down, anger and frustration. Cameron, the bounty hunter, is pretty much an every man but with that inner heroic need to protect and rescue. When he finds Qusay peddling on the streets with no memory of his past, he just has to dig into the mystery.

I picked up this book for two reasons–one, it looked interesting and I love the idea of m/m sci fi. Two, the main characters are a close mirror to the ones in my own book, and I was curious to see how another writer portrayed the bounty hunter/whore combo. I’m glad that it’s very different.

I think one of my only nitpicks would be that though Cameron is supposedly a bounty hunter, not once did I get to see him actually doing anything related to his job. He might as well have been a captain or a merchant or a cop or pretty much anything. It’s a small, nit, however.  Overall the action and relationships carried me along, and I enjoyed it. The ending was quite thrilling.

The plot took some interesting twists that made the reader question who a person really is when they remember two different lives. I like how Torrens played with this development and how it eventually resolved itself.

Definitely recommend for those who love a good space opera.

 

Leave a Reply

