Book Review: Power Exchange

power

Book: Power Exchange

Author: A. J. Rose

Publisher: Voodoo Lily Press

Genre: M/M Mystery, BDSM

Heat level: Explicit

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

There were parts of this book that were very good–the sex scenes, for one, and I liked the entire beginning with the setup of the crime and the meeting of Detective DeGrassi and psychologist Ben Haverson. I also really liked DeGrassi’s slow introduction into the world of BDSM. I’m Lifestyle, so I’m pretty picky about books I read with BDSM. I can spot a fake a mile away.

While it got a little preachy into the whole subspace thing (a trait which I have found is common in books with submission themes), overall I think the writer did a good job with these parts. Unfortunately, as a mystery book, this book failed for me for other reasons. First, I saw the murderer a mile off. I could excuse that, if this book had veered away from being a straight mystery to a suspense thriller. All the pieces were in place for it to do this, and I think that’s really where it wanted to go. But instead, Rose chose to make her characters not see the bright flashing light of IT’S ME, YOU DUMBASS! That’s where I had a problem.

Instead of making her detective ignorant (and therefore stupid), I would have much rather seen the climax from the killer’s viewpoint, sneaking up on our brave heroes before moving back to their viewpoint in classic suspense style. It was obvious that Rose wanted the final scene, but it bothered me because it just felt so contrived, forced even. So that’s why the 3.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

