Book Review: Shattered Glass

glass

Book: Shattered Glass

Author: Dani Alexander

Publisher: Dani Alexander

Genre:  M/M Romantic Suspense / Mystery

Heat Level: Pretty hot!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was the FUNNIEST gay romance that I’ve ever read. If you look back at other books I’ve rated and reviewed, you’ll note that I don’t give out five stars very often. Five stars means a book is good enough that I immediately want to go back and read it again. I was highly disappointed that when I looked for more books by Dani on Amazon, I didn’t find any. WRITE MORE! FAST!

Dani did an excellent job of setting up a man whose life is about to go completely haywire. I’ve read stories before where a gay man doesn’t realize he’s gay until he’s in his thirties, but rarely have I seen this done well; it tends to become a “gay for you” type of scenario. But Dani did a very good job making the reader understand how sexuality can be repressed for a long time and how relationships can be skewed to perpetuate the lie. While Detective Glass makes light of his past, there’s a great deal of pain that shines through. This gave the deceptively light novel some depth.

I also appreciated that Dani didn’t make light of the old “character gets shot and has to recover.” Bullet wounds are scary, and recovery is not always a simple slap on a bandage and go back out to get the bad guys.

I hate giving summaries in reviews because that’s more of the job of the blurb and I don’t want to give things away. But basically when a cop with aspirations of becoming a Fed falls head over heels for a whore with some really bad gang connections, things aren’t going to go well. Add on top of that a crazy Albanian mother and a genius kid with ADHD and it gets even better.

So this was crazy and funny and sweet and hot and tense and deep all at the same time. I’m really looking forward to more from this writer.

Leave a Reply

