Writing Process Blog Tag

writing

I was tagged by velvetpanic to write about how I write. So here goes!

1. What are you working on?

I’m currently working on a gay paranormal suspense novel. This will be the first book of a series, featuring bounty hunter Derwin Bryant and rent boy/object reader Elliot Leed. The world is gritty and filled with dark things including demons and foul spirits. I’ve been having fun with this project, as the demons all come from Asian mythology. Along with that spookiness you have people running around with special abilities, “Oddities” as they are called by the heavy-handed government. After all, in a world where demons rule the wilderness, you have to have a strong ruling power controlling everything . . .

2. How does your work differ from others of its genre?

I think the Asian influences give this a bit of a flare. Also my main character, Derwin, is a sadist, but not by choice, He actually gains strength and agility by feeding off of pain. And he’s not comfortable with that.

3. Why do you write what you do?

I write because I must. Writing has always been a part of me and always will be, and I get fidgety and unhappy if I stop. As for why I write what I do, I just have this love for LGBT works. Readers are discovering all the things that are possible in gay fiction, and I really want to be a part of that. I wrote fanfiction for years and enjoyed it, but it’s time to dig in and start producing original work.

4. How does your writing process work?

I create a notebook for the world, first. This includes everything from character notes to plot notes to research, outlines, etc. I have found that what works best for me is first creating a vivid world and vivid characters. Then I outline the first ten chapters. Why only the first ten? I’ve found that once I start writing, the plot and the characters sort of take over, and often they go places I never dreamed of when writing that outline, so it is meant only as a launching ramp, to get things going. I have an end point in mind as well, but then I let things just flow. For the mystery part of this novel, I wrote notes about who did it, who might have done it, and created several paths that might take the main characters to the end.

My turn to tag!  I tag Jena Wade, Dakota Trace, and Skye Jones.

Leave a Reply

