Book Review: Dirty Laundry

laundry

Book: Dirty Laundry (Cole McGinnis Mysteries)

Author: Rhys Ford

Publisher: Dreamspinner

Genre: M/M Mystery/suspense

Heat level: Hot

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Rhys Ford has become one of my favorite writers in the M/M genre, along with a few others. There’s a humor but also deep emotion to Rhys’s fiction that I really enjoy. This is the second Cole McGinnis mystery, and it is every bit as good as the first one.

There are several reasons why I like this book. First, even though the main pairing takes place in the first book, all is not well. Cole’s lover is Korean, and thanks to cultural stigma against gays there’s the whole issue about whether to come out or not, and what happens if you’re forced out of the closet too early. I also love the attention to detail about the location (I have a friend who used to live in Koreatown in L.A. so I appreciate all the little details that make the area unique). And I love the exploration of other cultures, both in the Korean community where Cole’s second case is centered as well as the Japanese culture where his mother and newly found brother come from. It’s all woven seamlessly into an exciting plot. So kudos to that.

I’m pretty picky about my star ratings–the five stars only go to what I consider classics or absolute favorites. But make no mistake, Dirty Laundry is a great example of its genre and a great read.

Leave a Reply

