Book Review: Strain

strain

Title: Strain

Author: Amelia C. Gormley

Publisher: Riptide

Genre: M/M Dystrophic / Zombie

Heat level: Super freaking hot!!!

Rating:  5 out of 5 stars all the way!

This is the first book by Amelia C. Gormley that’s I’ve read. And now I’m adding her to my “Must Read” list.

This was an amazing book from start to finish, and one that I didn’t want to end. Her characters were real, and while the book may feature an apocalyptic virus and zombie-like monstrosities, the real story is one of survival and healing from an emotionally abusive past. Rhys is a young man ready to sacrifice himself to save his loved ones when he comes across Darius and his company of “Jugs” out trying to save what’s left of humanity. The catch is that in order to survive, Rhys has to allow Darius and anyone else in the company the right to sexually take him, any time, any place.

There’s a bit more to it than that, of course, but Amelia makes some great use of dubcon, domination and submission, and multiple partners. The sex is both emotional and hot, with just enough of both elements to make it work. I’ve read dubcon that just made me shudder, but the way it is handled here didn’t give me any problems at all. In fact, I loved it. The relationship between Rhys and Darius is also suitably stormy, and there’s a bad guy to watch out for as well. The book pulled me along from start to finish with virtually no lag.

I would recommend this book for those who enjoy steamy M/M in any kind of a paranormal setting, including science fiction and thriller, or who like D/s and dubcon. Even if you don’t typically read zombie fiction (I don’t), I’d totally recommend it.

Leave a Reply

