Book Review: Grey’s Hidden Fire

fire

Title: Grey’s Hidden Fire

Author: Draven St. James

Publisher: Loose ID

Genre: Contemporary Gay Romance

Heat level: Medium

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

This story had some great potential, but the potential was not fully realized. I liked the characters Grey and Mica. The setup was excellent, with Mica joining Grey’s team of firefighters. Bit of danger with a fire rescue, and then a lucky encounter.

My main issue is that the entire book felt rushed. The sex scenes were rushed into (they were good, but the setups felt false), the “gay for you” felt rushed, and the resolution felt rushed. I didn’t really get to enjoy any kind of buildup.

I think the part I found hardest to accept was Grey’s transformation in literally a week. From being straight to holy cow I’m gay but only for you and then the question of being out and in a committed relationship? That’s a lot of change, and I would have liked to have seen it explored with some depth. Everything was just handled too conveniently, however, in order to get two hot guys in bed. If that’s the case, I would have taken out the beginning and the climax and just made this a short story about their first time.

The book feels like a first novel. But with that being said, I do see a lot of potential in this writer, and I hope more character exploration and time is spent in their other books.

Leave a Reply

