Book Review: Captive Prince

First, another 4 star review for “The Foreman!” Thank you to Jen at thebloggergirls. You can read more about it here: 

http://thebloggergirls.com/2014/09/02/book-review-the-foreman-by-j-t-hall/

pacat

And now to review “Captive Prince” by C.S. Pacat.  I’m not going to give stars on this one, and I’ll explain why.

I had high hopes for this book. The reviews are great; a lot of people are diehard fans of this m/m fantasy with the familiar slave theme. Prince gets bamboozled by his brother and sent off as a slave to the enemy, is treated badly by the enemy prince, and gradually they get together and form a bond against a larger enemy. It’s a pretty familiar “Enemy Mine” type of plot. And there were things about it that I liked. I liked Damen, first of all. But I really didn’t like Laurent, the enemy prince and slave owner. And I didn’t find much titillating about the book.

I’m fine with dubious con done the right way. There was too much abuse, however, in this book for me to feel comfortable with it. I read a Gor novel once, and it felt a little like that. While I heartily enjoy a good BDSM book, I’m finding that I don’t enjoy the unwilling slave book nearly as much, particularly when the more physically strong, dominant one is thrown in chains. I tried reading another m/m fantasy by a writer that I really love, and I had the same problem. So it’s probably not the book; it’s probably me. Maybe as a fellow dominant with control issues, I identify with the struggle too much. I’m not sure.

Anyways, there’s nothing I can find fault with in this book. It just wasn’t my cup of tea. If you do like a lot of hurt/comfort where the hurt comes from one half of the pairing, a sort of enemy abuse/healing theme. then I’m sure you’ll enjoy this. But otherwise, pass on it for something else. Laurent really is a bastard, and even if he has an abusive past, his manipulating nature and cold cruelty left me with a sour taste in my mouth.

 

Leave a Reply

