Character sketches: Flotsam and Jetsam

 

First, I’d like to say that I have started writing the sequel to The Foreman.  It’s going to be in Gary’s point of view, and the title will be The New Hire. Thank you to those who submitted your votes–it looks nipple clamps and cock ring wins!

Now for today, I present the two main characters for the young adult M/M novel I’m working on. As I’ve said before I like having pictures of my characters, even if these pictures don’t get used for the final covers. It just helps me to see them in my head.

From my WIP, “Flotsam and Jetsam”

Lucas Porter:

teen_boy_hair_style

I had a hard time finding this picture, but once I did, I was happy.

Description:  5′ 7″, blond, blue-gray eyes (like the sea), tan, scruffy haired surfer boy.

Family: Single son, lives with his mother, native to California. His father, according to his mother, came from the sea, a water elemental in the form of a sea nymph. Lucas has never met him.

Personality and desires: Lucas is overall an optimistic guy, who loves spreading joy and having fun, particularly in the water. He’s popular at school because he’s so friendly. But on the inside, Lucas is lonely. He knows he’s different. He can understand creatures from the sea, and while he can’t transform into anything, he can hold his breath for much longer than a normal human. He longs for a soul mate, someone who can understand him.

 

Adrian Negruscu:

beautiful-black-hair-boy-eyes-hoodie-Favim_com-112126

I had a much easier time finding this picture, and it’s PERFECT. This is the Adrian that I see in my head.

Description: 5′ 6″, black hair, green eyes, pale skin, “pretty.” Romanian ancestry.

Family: Also an only child. As the story begins, Adrian and his father are mourning the recent loss of Adrian’s mother, who died of cancer. His mother is Romanji, a member of the gypsy families who emigrated to America. Adrian grew up in the Bronx but with the death of his mother, his father heads to Los Angeles for a new job and a chance to start a new life away from old reminders.

Personality and desires: Adrian is an artist, a loner, and suffers from dreams and premonitions of the future.  On top of that, he’s mad at the world for the loss of his mother and having to move away from New York, away from his friends to sunny California. He likes wearing black and watching from the sidelines. He’s uncomfortable with attention. As the new kid in school, however, he has to deal with it. He also wishes he wasn’t gay. That’s one heartbreak he’d like to spare his dad.  If he was honest with himself, however, he’d admit that yes, maybe he could use a friend. Or something more than a friend.

 

As a side note, yes, I know these boys look very yaoi. What can I say? I love yaoi.

 

Leave a Reply

