So proud I could burst.

My daughter’s been through a bit in her life, at least emotionally. I left her dad when she was two because he was an asshole and I was a fool for marrying him. He barely spent any time with his daughter even on his weekends, as she was growing up.

Then when my daughter was eleven, he told her he didn’t want to see her any longer because I was living with my girlfriend. My daughter fought depression and low self-esteem, ran away for a few days when she was fourteen, and has struggled with standing up for herself and not giving up on things when they get tough. She’s book smart but not street smart, and very behind, socially. She does best when people tell her what to do.

My partner suggested that maybe the military would be a good option for my daughter, even though with her grades and advanced classes she’d be a good candidate for scholarships. My daughter seemed surprisingly okay with the idea.

When I asked her about it, my daughter confessed to me that she’s been thinking about serving in the military for some time, but she was too afraid to tell me. She wants to serve her country, she’s not afraid of the physical conditioning, and again, she likes following orders. She also thought it might build her confidence.

I told her I was proud of her, and that she should never be afraid to tell me anything.

So it looks like when she graduates, my kid may be joining the Air Force.

2 thoughts on “So proud I could burst.

  1. velvetpanic says:

    aw, I’ve got tears in my eyes, how awesome is she!!!

Leave a Reply

