The Romance Arc

I’m writing the almost final chapter of my 2nd Oddites book (other than a short epilogue), which also happens to be the final love scene. I never write sex just for sex’s sake–I like my sex scenes to also move the plot along, especially the romance plot. Things that happen during intimacy often mirror what’s happening in other parts of one’s life (things like control or loss of control, denial or acceptance, trust or distrust). Even outside of BDSM, there’s also something quite powerful about the act of topping. Or bottoming.

When I was writing my first mmromance full length novel, I didn’t really understand the romance arc. Oh, I knew that my two leads had to have flaws that had prevented them from falling in love and all that. I just didn’t entirely get how their romance arc beats were supposed to work and intertwine with the mystery/suspense plot. I have to give thanks to my editors at Riptide for helping me develop that in my first book. I still didn’t truly understand it until I read Romancing the Beat by Gwen Hayes. She put it all into very simple terms (with lots of fun 80’s music references).

Basically it was summed up for me in one line. “Love conquers all.” The heart of the romance arc is that love finds a way to overcome whatever external obstacles there are between the two characters, but more importantly also overcomes whatever internal barriers there may be. Understanding that, I’m getting a whole new perspective of my characters and their relationship. I wrote an entire chapter over the weekend that I never expected to write, which was mostly about them, their hopes and fears, and dealing with the emotional aftermath from the climax scene. I’m really happy with it.

Anyways, with each new book, I’m learning something new, and improving all the time.

Just about to hit 98,000 words. Less than 3000 words to go to finish this thing.

Leave a Reply

